The Walter Harrison Scholarship

The Walter Harrison Scholarship

The Walter Harrison Scholarship

A number of deserving students will receive an unexpected financial boost if they are chosen as a recipient of the Walter Harrison Scholarship, a program sponsored by Georgia’s electric membership corporations (EMCs). The scholarship can be applied to academic expenses at any accredited two- or four-year university, college or vocational-technical institute in Georgia.

The Walter Harrison Scholarship awards $1,000 scholarships to students who demonstrate exceptional academic performance. Grade point average, SAT scores, academic standing, scholastic honors and financial need are considered. A scholarship committee, comprised of directors and managers of Georgia’s EMCs, to awards scholarships to remarkable students who struggle with the high costs associated with attending college.

The scholarship is available to any college level student, regardless of age. Students applying for the scholarship must be accepted or enrolled in an accredited undergraduate degree program. See application below for further requirements.

Created in 1985 by the board of directors of Georgia EMC, the trade association representing the 41 electric cooperatives of Georgia, the scholarship pays tribute to the late Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and a leader at local, state and national levels in the electric cooperative program.

Click the PDF link below to download the 2019 application. If you are unable to download the file, call Trisha McBee at 770.370.2273 and an application will be mailed to you. Applicants must also submit a two-page autobiographical sketch with references to future plans and goals, school transcripts, letters of recommendation and proof of enrollment or an acceptance letter. Applications must be postmarked by Jan. 15, 2019. 

Winners will be announced on or before April 1. Eleven $1,000 scholarships are scheduled to be awarded in 2019.

2019 Walter Harrison Scholarship Application (PDF)

The 2018 Walter Harrison Scholarship Winners are:

Caleb Alexander of Toccoa – Hart EMC

Maison Clouatre of Mt. Airy – Habersham EMC

Megan Freeman of Gainesville – Jackson EMC

Diana Ha of Conyers – Snapping Shoals EMC

Marley Hamby of Dawsonville – Amicalola EMC

Sam Horton of Sandersville – Washington EMC

Derek Huell of Midland – Flint Energies

Kathryn Santos of Camilla – Mitchell EMC

Zahraw Shah of Newnan – Coweta-Fayette EMC

Trevor Thomas of Homer – Jackson EMC

James Wood of LaGrange – Diverse Power

+A A -A